Workshops by Max McCoy, Tiffany Schofield, Linda Apple, Johnny D. Boggs, Dusty Richards and Brett Cogburn.

Max McCoy

Friday Afternoon Breakout Sessions-

"The Craft of Writing"

Other highlights include:

Max McCoy is an award-winning author and journalist. He wrote four original Indiana Jones novels for Lucasfilm, the novelization for the epic miniseries Into the West, and has won the Spur Award three times. He’s the author of the Ophelia Wylde paranormal mystery series and the Hellfire Canyondark western trilogy. He’s a professor at Emporia State University, where he teaches a graduate course on Mark Twain, and is also the director for the Center for Great Plains Studies. He’s just completed a narrative nonfiction book on the Arkansas River for the University Press of Kansas, and is working on an investigative biography of Mark Twain’s official biographer and literary executor Albert Bigelow Paine. Read more

Featured Speaker's Panel

Scheduled Speakers for the 2017 Annual Conference

Special Guest:

Gary Goldstein, Executive Editor (suspense,

military and political thrillers, horror—

supernatural and non-supernatural, comic fiction,

and westerns) Kensington Publishing Corp.,

New York, NY.

Publisher's Row meet and talk with publishers

Special Early Bird Session Thursday (free)

Michael & Kathleen Gear

W. Michael Gear owns and operates his own anthropological research company and has spent over thirty years working as a physical anthropologist, archaeologist, and cultural resources specialist. Kathleen O’Neal Gear is the former Wyoming State Historian and tri-state Archaeologist for the U.S. Dept. of the Interior.  In addition to the 33 novels they have co-authored, they have individually published another 23 novels, ranging from historical and science fiction to modern thrillers.  They also have over 200 non-fiction publications in the fields of archaeology, history, and bison conservation.  In 1994, their publisher submitted their book, People of the Lakes, for the Pulitzer Prize, and in 1996, submitted Michael’s book, The Morning River, for the National Book Award.  Read more.

Independent Publishers Panel